Network Licensing Decoded: Cisco vs Competitors on Licences, Prices and Support
Hardware ≠ licence ≠ cloud management ≠ support ≠ security subscription. How Cisco, HPE, Juniper, Arista, Fortinet, Palo Alto and others really charge — with real reseller prices from October 2026.
The hardware price on a quote is rarely the number that matters. Over five years, subscriptions, cloud management, support and security services usually outweigh the box itself. This part breaks down how each vendor charges, with real reseller prices captured on 8 October 2026.
Key takeaways
- Treat hardware, software licence, cloud management, support and security subscription as five separate line items — bundles hide the split.
- Cisco Catalyst 9000 orders require a 3-, 5- or 7-year term subscription on top of the perpetual licence; renewals are the largest Cisco campus OPEX lever.
- Meraki, Aruba Central (AOS-10 APs) and Mist APs need an active cloud licence to keep working — budget them as mandatory OPEX.
How to read prices in this series. Confirmed / Public MSRP = published by the vendor or a named reseller's list price. Reseller price = advertised by a named authorised reseller on 8 October 2026. Market estimate = my street-price range for budgeting. Enterprise quote = not publicly disclosed; large deals typically land 30–60% below list. Planning rates: USD 1 = INR 95 = EUR 0.87.
The rule for every evaluation
Rule for every evaluation: Hardware cost ≠ Software licence ≠ Cloud management ≠ Support ≠ Security subscription. Each is a separate line item, has a separate term, and is renewed (or not) independently. Many vendors bundle them on a single SKU for convenience, which hides the split.
Licensing models at a glance
| Model | Cisco | HPE Aruba | Juniper | Arista | Huawei | Fortinet | Extreme | Palo Alto | Ubiquiti / MikroTik |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perpetual OS licence | Yes (Network Ess./Adv.) | Yes (AOS-CX base) | Yes (Junos base) | Yes (EOS) | Yes (base + some feature) | Yes (FortiOS) | Yes (legacy) / Platform ONE | Yes (PAN-OS base) | Yes, no subs |
| Term subscription | Mandatory (Catalyst/DNA 3/5/7 yr) | Central Foundation/Advanced | Mist subs; Flex tiers | CloudVision, AGNI | Optional (NCE, SD-WAN) | FortiGuard bundles | Platform ONE tiers | Mandatory for security value | No |
| Device-based | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (pooled) | Yes | N/A |
| Port-based | Some (port tiers) | By port count tier | By model tier | Tiered | Some | No | Tiered by device class | No | No |
| User-based | SASE/Duo/ISE endpoint | SSE per user, ClearPass per endpoint | Secure Edge per user | AGNI per user | Limited | FortiSASE per user | ZTNA per user | Prisma Access per user | No |
| Bandwidth-based | SD-WAN tiers by throughput | EdgeConnect by bandwidth | SSR by bandwidth | VeloCloud by bandwidth | SD-WAN | No (appliance) | SD-WAN | Prisma SD-WAN / remote network | No |
| Cloud mgmt licence | Meraki (mandatory) | Central (mandatory for cloud) | Mist (mandatory for APs) | CVaaS | NCE cloud | FortiCloud/ FortiLAN | ExtremeCloud IQ | Strata Cloud Manager | Free |
| Security subscription | Secure Firewall Threat/Malware/URL | Gateway IDS/IPS | SRX ATP | Partner | USG bundles | UTP/Enterprise bundles | Partner | Core Security bundle | Basic IPS (Ubiquiti) |
| Support contract | Smart Net Total Care / Solution Support | Foundation Care | Juniper Care | A-Care | Huawei Co-Care | FortiCare Premium/Elite | ExtremeWorks | Standard/Premium | Warranty only (+ optional UI Care) |
Cisco licensing in detail
| Element | How it works | Procurement implication |
|---|---|---|
| Network Stack (Network Essentials / Network Advantage) | Perpetual licence tied to Catalyst 9000 hardware; Essentials covers L2/basic L3, Advantage adds full routing, VRF, MPLS/EVPN, etc. | Choose tier up front; upgrading later costs more than buying Advantage at purchase for distribution/core. |
| Cisco Catalyst / DNA subscription (Essentials / Advantage) | Per Cisco ordering guides, new Catalyst 9000 orders require a matching-tier term subscription of 3, 5 or 7 years alongside the perpetual stack licence. | This is the 'hidden' recurring cost. Renewal pricing is the largest Cisco campus OPEX lever. |
| Catalyst Center (formerly DNA Center) | Renamed in 2024. Meters per managed device; tiers Essentials, Advantage, Premier. | Appliance/VM capex plus device subscriptions; size for growth. |
| Meraki licensing | Every Meraki device needs an active licence for dashboard management and support (co-term or per-device). MX licence tiers: Enterprise and Advanced Security (adds IDS/IPS, AMP, content filtering). | If the licence lapses, devices stop passing traffic after the grace period — treat as mandatory OPEX. |
| Cisco Networking Subscription (unified) | Newer offer (CISCO-NETWORK-SUB) letting Meraki and Catalyst devices use unified Essentials/Advantage licences (e.g., Wi-Fi 7 APs, smart switching), managed in cloud or on-prem. | Simplifies hybrid estates; evaluate vs. legacy SKUs and ELA. |
| Security subscriptions | Secure Firewall threat/malware/URL, Umbrella/Secure Access per user, Duo per user, ISE Essentials/Advantage/Premier per endpoint. | ISE and SSE are separate budgets from LAN; often 20–35% of total Cisco spend. |
| Smart Licensing / Smart Licensing Using Policy | Licences live in Smart Accounts/Virtual Accounts; SLUP makes many tiers unenforced but reportable. | Compliance is audited at renewal/true-up; keep Smart Account hygiene. |
| Support (Smart Net Total Care / Solution Support) | 8x5xNBD to 24x7x4 hardware replacement + TAC + software updates. | Typically priced as an annual % of list; renew in sync (co-term). |
| Enterprise Agreement (EA) | Multi-year commitment across networking, security, Splunk etc. | Better unit pricing but 'true-forward' penalises shrinking device counts. |
Competitor licensing equivalents
| Vendor | Licensing model | What is mandatory vs. optional | Watch-outs |
|---|---|---|---|
| HPE Aruba Networking | Perpetual AOS-CX/AOS-10 + Central subscription (Foundation / Advanced) per device, 1/3/5/7/10 yrs; ClearPass perpetual or subscription per endpoint; EdgeConnect by bandwidth tier; SSE per user. | AOS-10 APs require Central; switches can run without cloud. | Central Advanced is meaningfully dearer than Foundation; check gateway licences. |
| Juniper (HPE) | Junos perpetual base + Flex Standard/Advanced/Premium (term) for features; Mist Wi-Fi/Wired Assurance per device; Marvis add-on; Apstra per device; SRX security subs. | Mist Wi-Fi Assurance is mandatory for Mist APs; Marvis needs Wired Assurance. | Roadmap convergence with Aruba Central may change SKUs — insist on price protection. |
| Arista | EOS perpetual with feature licences (e.g., routing scale); CloudVision as-a-Service per device; AGNI per user; VeloCloud per edge/bandwidth. | CloudVision optional but expected. | Fewer bundles; optics pricing matters. |
| Huawei | Perpetual hardware + feature licences; iMaster NCE per device; optional SnS (Software Subscription & Support). | Mostly perpetual. | SnS needed for upgrades; regulatory constraints outweigh price. |
| Fortinet | Perpetual FortiOS; FortiGuard bundles (ATP, UTP, Enterprise) 1/3/5 yrs; FortiSwitch/FortiAP mostly licence-free when managed by FortiGate; FortiSASE per user. | Bundles are optional but needed for security value. | Bundled SKUs (e.g., FG-60F-BDL-950-36) are cheaper than à la carte. |
| Extreme Networks | Extreme Platform ONE Networking: Standard, Advanced, Premium; Standard required for ExtremeCloud IQ management; licences pooled and portable across devices; legacy perpetual feature licences still supported on non-Universal switches. | Standard tier needed for cloud management. | Pooled licences reduce stranded cost. |
| Palo Alto Networks | Appliance + per-device subscriptions (Advanced Threat Prevention, Advanced URL, Advanced WildFire, DNS, SD-WAN) — bundled as Core Security; Prisma Access per user/site. | Without subscriptions the device is a basic stateful firewall. | Over 5 years subscriptions can be 3–4× the appliance; negotiate renewal caps. |
| Check Point | Appliance + Quantum security packages (NGFW/NGTP/SandBlast); Harmony SASE per user. | Packages required for threat prevention. | Management server licence separate. |
| Versa | Subscription per site/bandwidth (Secure SD-WAN, SASE tiers); often delivered via service providers. | Subscription mandatory. | Pricing often bundled in managed service. |
| VMware by Broadcom | Subscription only; per physical core (16-core minimum per CPU). NSX networking ships inside VMware Cloud Foundation; advanced security (vDefend) is an additional per-core attach. | Must buy VCF to get NSX. | Major cost increases for many customers since 2024. |
| Ubiquiti / MikroTik | No recurring licences; RouterOS licence level bundled with hardware (MikroTik). | None. | No enterprise TAC; optional Ubiquiti UI Care (e.g., US$259 per Pro Max 48 PoE for 5 yrs). |
| Cato / Zscaler | Pure SaaS per user/site/bandwidth. | Subscription mandatory. | Cloud dependency; data-residency (PoP) checks. |
Hardware pricing: representative SKUs
Representative, comparable SKUs. List/MSRP and reseller prices are from public listings on the dates shown; all other figures are estimates for budgeting.
| Vendor / model | Configuration | Throughput / capacity | Price (USD) | Price type | Source (date) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cisco C9300-48P-E | 48×1G PoE+ (437W default PSU), modular uplinks, Network Essentials | StackWise-480, 256 Gbps switching | $2,765 (was $2,925) | Reseller price (hardware only; DNA/Catalyst sub extra) | IT Bargain Center listing, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Cisco C9300-48P-E | Same, UK | — | £5,065 ex VAT (special) / £5,331 regular | Reseller price (UK) | Sync (wearesync.co.uk), viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Cisco C9300-48P-E incl. DNA 3Y | Same + 3-yr DNA subscription | — | €4,350 incl. VAT | Reseller price (DE marketplace) | eBay.de Comstex, updated Aug 2025 |
| Cisco Meraki MX67 | Branch SD-WAN security appliance | ~450 Mbps stateful FW | Not publicly disclosed – partner quote; est. $600–$900 | Market estimate | — |
| Fortinet FortiGate 60F + 3 yr UTP bundle | 10×GE, SPU; 3-yr 24×7 FortiCare + FortiGuard UTP (FG-60F-BDL-950-36) | 700 Mbps threat protection | $1,847–$1,939 (MSRP $2,389–$2,508) | Reseller price + MSRP | SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Palo Alto PA-440 | 8×GE desktop NGFW | 3.0 Gbps FW / 2.2 Gbps threat | €2,490 ex VAT (≈ $2,860) | Reseller price (FR, appliance only) | Optinoc product page, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Ubiquiti USW-Pro-Max-48-PoE | 16×2.5G + 32×1G, 720W PoE++, 4×10G SFP+ | L3, Etherlighting | $1,299 base; $1,401 incl. tariff surcharge | Vendor store price (Confirmed) | store.ui.com (US), viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Ubiquiti USW-Pro-Max-48-PoE | Same, via reseller | — | $1,516–$1,552 | Reseller price | SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| HPE Aruba CX 6300M 48-port PoE | 48×1G Class 4 PoE, 4×50G SFP56 | ~880 Gbps | Not publicly disclosed; est. $4,000–$6,500 street | Market estimate | — |
| Juniper EX4100-48P | 48×1G PoE+, 4×25G | ~496 Gbps | Not publicly disclosed; est. $3,500–$6,000 street | Market estimate | — |
| Arista CCS-720XP-48ZC2 | 48×mGig PoE, 6×100G | ~1.6 Tbps | Not publicly disclosed; est. $4,000–$7,000 street | Market estimate | — |
| Huawei S5735-L48P4X | 48×1G PoE+, 4×10G | ~176 Gbps | Not publicly disclosed; est. $1,200–$2,500 street | Market estimate | — |
| Extreme 5420M-48W-4YE | 48×1G PoE+, 4×25G | ~400 Gbps | Not publicly disclosed; est. $2,500–$4,500 street | Market estimate | — |
| Wi-Fi 7 enterprise AP (Cisco CW9176I / Aruba 735 / Mist AP47 / Arista C-460) | 4×4 tri-band, 10GbE | — | Not publicly disclosed; est. $900–$1,600 street | Market estimate | — |
| 400G DC spine (Arista 7060X5/X6, Cisco N9K-9364D, Juniper QFX5240) | 32–64×400G/800G | 12.8–51.2 Tbps | Enterprise quote; est. $35,000–$90,000 street | Market estimate | — |
Costs that are commonly missed
| Item | Typical cost position | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Optics (SFP/SFP+/SFP28/QSFP28/QSFP-DD) | Vendor-branded optics 3–10× third-party; 10G SR $20–$150 (3P vs. branded), 100G $150–$1,500, 400G $600–$4,000 | Arista/Juniper/Dell tolerate compatible optics more readily; Cisco/HPE may restrict TAC support. |
| DAC/AOC cables | $13–$40 (10G DAC, Ubiquiti list) up to $300+ for 400G | Use DAC inside racks to save optics cost. |
| Redundant PSUs, fans, stacking cables | +8–20% per access switch | Catalyst 9300 ships with one PSU by default. |
| Controllers / management appliances | $15k–$120k (Catalyst Center, ClearPass, FortiManager, NCE) | Cloud mgmt converts this to OPEX. |
| Spares pool | 3–5% of hardware capex | Critical for India/remote sites where RMA can be 2–5 days. |
| Rack accessories, PDUs, UPS | 1–3% of capex | — |
| Logistics & import duties | India: BCD 10–20% + SWS + 18% IGST (input credit available to GST-registered buyers); EU: 0% duty on most IT (ITA) + VAT 17–27% | Duty classification disputes common in India (see Part 5). |
Software and subscription pricing
| Licence / subscription | Term | Price (USD) | Price type | Annualised | Source (date) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meraki MX67W Advanced Security + Enterprise support (LIC-MX67W-SEC-1YR) | 1 yr | $523.99 (list $735.57) | Reseller price | $524 | CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Meraki MX67 Advanced Security (LIC-MX67-SEC-1YR) | 1 yr | $359.94 (list $686.39) | Reseller price | $360 | Hummingbird Networks, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| HPE Aruba Central Advanced, 1 switch (JZ535AAE) | 1 yr | $665 (MSRP $825) | Reseller + MSRP | $665 | SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| HPE Aruba Central Advanced, 1 switch 8–12 ports (JZ526AAE) | 3 yr | $766 (MSRP $950) | Reseller + MSRP | $255 | SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| HPE Networking Central Advanced, 1 switch (6400/5400 class, S0T70AAE) | 5 yr | $4,977 (list $7,425) | Reseller price | $995 | CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| HPE Aruba Central Advanced, 1 WLAN gateway (S0V01AAE) | 1 yr | $2,986 (MSRP $3,706) | Reseller + MSRP | $2,986 | SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Juniper Mist Wired Assurance + Care Core, EX 48-port (SUB-EX48-1S-5Y-COR) | 5 yr | $1,085 (list $1,363) | Reseller price | $217 | CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Juniper Mist Wired Assurance + Same Day support, EX 48-port | 5 yr | $10,447 (list $12,074) | Reseller price | $2,089 | CDW, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Juniper Mist Wi-Fi Assurance (per AP) | per month | ~$10–$20 per AP/month | Market estimate (aggregator) | $120–$240 | Costbench, Jun 2026 |
| Fortinet FortiGate 60F UTP bundle (HW + 3 yr) | 3 yr | $1,847–$1,939 | Reseller price | ≈ $500 sub/yr (est.) | SHI, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Palo Alto PA-440 'Bundle Complete' (threat, URL, WildFire, GlobalProtect, SD-WAN) | 1 yr | €2,890 ex VAT (≈ $3,320) | Reseller price (FR) | ≈ $3,320 | Optinoc, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| Palo Alto PA-440 3-yr TCO with bundle | 3 yr | €11,160 ex VAT (≈ $12,830) | Reseller-computed | — | Optinoc, viewed 8 Oct 2026 |
| VMware Cloud Foundation (includes NSX) | per core / yr | ~$350 per core/yr list; 16-core minimum per CPU | Market estimate (licensing advisory) | — | Redress Compliance, 2026 |
| VMware vDefend (NSX distributed firewall) attach | per core / yr | ~$120–$200 per core/yr on top of VCF | Market estimate | — | Redress Compliance, 2026 |
| Cisco Catalyst/DNA Advantage (per 48-port switch) | 5 yr | Not publicly disclosed – partner quote; est. $1,500–$3,500 street | Market estimate | $300–$700 | — |
| Cisco ISE / Aruba ClearPass / FortiNAC per endpoint | per yr | Enterprise quote; est. $2–$15 per endpoint/yr | Market estimate | — | — |
| SASE / SSE per user (Prisma Access, FortiSASE, Cisco Secure Access, Zscaler, Cato, HPE SSE) | per yr | Enterprise quote; est. $60–$180 per user/yr depending on features and volume | Market estimate | — | — |
Support and maintenance
| Vendor | Standard | Premium / 24x7 | Software updates | Hardware replacement | Typical annual cost (% of HW list, est.) | TAC quality notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cisco | SNTC 8x5xNBD | 24x7x4, Solution Support, Success Tracks | Requires active contract | NBD / 4-hr depots globally | 10–20% | Deepest global TAC; large knowledge base. |
| HPE Aruba | Foundation Care NBD | 24x7 / 4-hr, Aruba TAC | Included with Central / FC | NBD / 4-hr; limited lifetime warranty on many CX/Instant On | 8–15% | Good; lifetime warranty reduces HW cost. |
| Juniper (HPE) | Juniper Care Core | Same Day / 24x7x4 | With Care / subs | NBD / same-day | 8–15% | Strong SP-grade JTAC; Mist bundles support into subs. |
| Arista | A-Care NBD | 4-hr onsite | With A-Care | NBD / 4-hr | 10–15% | Very well regarded; engineer-to-engineer. |
| Huawei | Co-Care basic | 24x7 premium | SnS | NBD / 4-hr (country dependent) | 5–10% | Strong in Asia/MEA; constrained in restricted markets. |
| Fortinet | FortiCare Premium (24x7) | FortiCare Elite (15-min SLA) | Included in bundles | NBD advance replacement | Included in bundle (~15–25% of HW/yr incl. FortiGuard) | Mixed reviews at scale; improving. |
| Extreme | ExtremeWorks NBD | 24x7, ResidentEngineer | Included | NBD / 4-hr | 8–14% | Frequently praised for in-house TAC. |
| Palo Alto | Standard | Premium (24x7), Focused Services | Requires support | NBD / 4-hr | 15–20% (+ security subs) | Strong security TAC. |
| Ubiquiti | Warranty (1–2 yr) | UI Care (5-yr advance replacement, e.g., $259/unit for Pro Max 48 PoE) | Free | Advance replacement with UI Care | ~4% | Community-driven; no enterprise TAC. |
| MikroTik | Warranty | Via distributors/consultants | Free | Distributor RMA | ~0–3% | No vendor TAC. |
AMC (Annual Maintenance Contract) in India is often delivered by the system integrator on top of OEM support at 6–12% of hardware value per year, covering on-site engineers, spares and preventive maintenance; budget both OEM back-to-back support and SI AMC.
Practical advice
- Buy the right Cisco tier up front. Upgrading from Network Essentials to Advantage later costs more than buying Advantage for distribution/core at purchase.
- Model renewals, not just year one. Palo Alto subscriptions can reach 3–4× the appliance cost over five years; negotiate renewal caps.
- Watch optics. Vendor-branded optics run 3–10× third-party; ask for a fixed optics price list or third-party optics support.
Next: how these line items add up over five years in Part 4 — TCO across four scenarios.
Research date: 8 October 2026. Vendor-neutral and independent — no vendor sponsorship. Prices, licences and product names change frequently; re-validate every figure with at least two authorised partners per region before purchasing. TCO figures are illustrative models built on stated assumptions, not quotations. Gartner content is cited via vendor and press announcements. Not legal, tax or investment advice.
The full series: Enterprise Network Vendors 2026
📄 Prefer one document? Download the full 44-page report (PDF)
- The market after HPE–Juniper and Arista–VeloCloud
- Products and technical capabilities compared
- Licensing, pricing and support decoded (you are here)
- Five-year TCO across four enterprise scenarios
- India, Europe and the US: regional realities
- Choosing, migrating and negotiating
Next: Part 4 — Five-year TCO across four enterprise scenarios →
- #Licensing
- #Vendor Analysis
- #Cisco
- #Procurement
- #Pricing
- #Support
- #Enterprise Network Vendors 2026
Related reading
The Real Cost of Enterprise Networking: Five-Year TCO Across Four Scenarios
A transparent bottom-up TCO model — from a 50-user branch to a 10,000-user global enterprise — comparing Cisco, HPE, Arista, Fortinet, Extreme, Huawei and Ubiquiti. Hardware is the smallest part of the bill.
Beyond Cisco: The Enterprise Networking Market in 2026
Two 2025 deals redrew the map: HPE now owns Juniper and Arista owns VeloCloud. Part 1 of a vendor-neutral, 19-vendor analysis — who really competes with Cisco, and in which category.
Buying Network Equipment in India, Europe and the US: Duties, Regulation and Market Fit
Customs duty and GST in India, NIS2 and data residency in the EU, tariffs and NDAA §889 in the US — what changes when you buy the same network in three regions, and which vendors are strongest where.
Let's talk
Have a technology initiative, a project, or a career question?
Tell me a little about it. I read every message and usually reply within two working days.
